St. Ann’s Parish History

As the city of Syracuse began to sprawl to the suburbs in the middle of the 20th century, the Syracuse Diocese recognized the need for a parish expansion. One of the areas in need was the west side. The existing parishes were becoming overcroweded, and the growth out Onondaga Blvd, Fairmount, and Camillus was continuing to expand with new homes and families. Bishop Walter Foery decided to purchase 17 acres on Onondaga Blvd. for the purpose of expansion. He chose Rev. Francis J. Sheedy, himself a Syracuse west-side native, to spearhead the expansion, and on March 6, 1955, Fr. Sheedy celebrated St. Ann’s first mass at the House of Providence Chapel.

Plans were soon underway for construction of the new Home of St. Ann’s, on the 17 acre parcel. Ground was broke on January 21, 1956, and less than a year later, the new church was dedicated at an evening Mass on October 22, 1956 – just 9 short months from the ground breaking.

There were 200 0riginal families registered in the parish. The parish has undergone a number of changes over the last half-century. With nearly 750 families registered, it remains a vibrant part of the Syracuse Westside culture and the Syracuse Diocese.

For a complete history of St Ann’s click here.